Board Notes

School Board Notes
Action Meeting - June 3, 2024


The Board recognized:

  • Lehigh Acres Middle School Teacher Robert Jones as the School District’s 2023-2024 New Teacher of the Year.
  • Three Oaks Middle School Teacher Mia DiPasquale for receiving the “Believer Award” from the Family Initiative's annual Autism Acceptance Awards for her positive impact on individuals and families with autism.
  • Gulf Elementary Speech Pathologist Caroline King for receiving the “Dylan Award” from the Family Initiative's annual Autism Acceptance Awards for going above and beyond for the Autism Spectrum Disorder community and serving as an inspiration to others.
  • The School Board’s official designation as a 2024 Certified Master Board Distinction by the Florida School Board Association.
  • As part of the Longevity Staff Recognition Awards the extraordinary dedication and unwavering commitment over the years of employees Robert Mazza (30 years of service) and Bonnie Mazza (25 years of service).

Consent Action Items

The School Board approved:

  • Renewing the Florida District Franchise Agreement with Florida Virtual School (FLVS) that grants the School District of Lee County a license for Lee Virtual School to use Licensed Materials.
  • Funding to provide students at Title I schools math, ELA, and science kits for summer learning Marzano, Resources High Reliability Schools training for teachers and leadership training for principals and assistant principals.
  • A contract to provide milk, other dairy products and juice to school cafeterias.
  • Funding for plate glass, tempered glass, hurricane impact glass, storefront doors or curtain walls at Fort Myers High School, Gulf Elementary and Success Academy.
  • Amending the contract with Island Park High School so the charter school can add 7th and 8th grade students.
  • Employee reappointments for the 2024-2025 school year.
  • To award ITN No. CN24-0139TA Public Private Partnership (P3) to build Hector A. Cafferata, Jr. K-8 School to Gulfpoint Construction Company, Inc. and approval of the total project cost.

Consent Action Items Pulled and Discussed

The Board Pulled and Discussed:

  • Approval of the FY25, FY26, and FY27 Collective Bargaining Agreement with the Teachers Association of Lee County (TALC). Item passed with a vote of 4-Yes and 3-No.

Administrative Appointments

  • Sarah Cox, Executive Director, Business Services
  • Kari Hardman, Coordinator, Talent Management
  • Armando Alejo, Assistant Principal, Bonita Springs Middle Center for the Arts
  • Dana Christopher, Assistant Principal, Cypress Lake High School
  • Jared Flynn, Assistant Principal, Paul Laurence Dunbar Middle School
  • Misti Gonzalez, Assistant Principal, Riverdale High School
  • Steven McGinley, Assistant Principal, Lemuel Teal Middle School
  • Casey Radvansky, Assistant Principal, Amanecer Elementary
  • Donald Stiffler, Assistant Principal, Dunbar High School

Board Policies

  • No changes


Please note that this page is updated after every School Board Action Meeting. For past meeting minutes, agendas and for a complete list of actions taken at the June 3rd meeting visit the District’s BoardDocs page.

Our next action meeting is at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 26th at the Lee County Public Education Center. All meetings are live streamed and available to view at your convenience on the District’s YouTube channel.

Thank you.
The School Board of Lee County